Problem with blinking LED

Gorvunkar

Joined Jul 9, 2014
Hello, I'm a newbie,
I've done some simple projects. But there is one that I can't get to work.
I want it to be solved before I can go on with my hobby.

It's this one : http://www.instructables.com/id/Flashing-LED-using-555-Timer/?ALLSTEPS

I built it exactly like that, but the LED isn't blinking, no , it gives off light continuously.

The power supply is a lego train adapter.

I've used the search function, this guy had the same problem : http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=46620
But my power supply is ok. Now, I read the sticky about decoupling caps.
But it should work as described on that instructables site, right ?

I used an NE555P and jumper wires (longer than on that site), all ordered from ebay.
I tested the capacitor on the voltage. It simply reads a continous value : 1.4 V.

What could possibly be wrong ? Are my IC's ok ? (Because I couldn't get a 4011 IC to work either, which I used in a project with multiple NAND-gates)

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I built it exactly like that...
No offense, but a simple mistake is the most likely explanation. It's so easy to make a mistake and everyone here is nodding as they read this.

Post a good clear picture of your build and maybe another set of eyes will see your problem. Decoupling caps would be a very good idea and should be easy to add. I also wonder what gauge wire you are using in your breadboard - does it fit snugly? If it's too thin, you can get poor connections. Try a 9V battery and see what happens.

Gorvunkar

Joined Jul 9, 2014
aaah, it works with a 9 V battery.
Thanks wayneh.
Any idea why my lego train power supply behaves differently than the battery ?
In other projects it creates normal results.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010