problem on Mealy Moore State Diagram

syed_husain

Joined Aug 24, 2009
it is a home work problem. i have to find the State table and diagram for both Moore and Mealy model. i have attached the question and my attempt in pdf file. Cud anyone give some feedback whether my attempt is right or wrong?:)

thanks in advance.

Attachments

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
The output (Y) of your state table is wrong. It is derived from A XOR B XOR Present State. The next state is not ready yet. Care to revise?

Also keep in mind that a 3 input XOR is a finder of odd populations of 1s. Thus 0 XOR 0 XOR 0 equals 0. You have other similar mistakes.

syed_husain

Joined Aug 24, 2009
The output (Y) of your state table is wrong. It is derived from A XOR B XOR Present State. The next state is not ready yet. Care to revise?
i am quite new with this state diagram. so my knowledge is quite lacking. as i understand it is a D-flipflop so next state = present state. i actually followed a bit similar problem mentioned in "Logic and Computer Design Fundamentals" -Mano, fourth edition, p225-226. as they derived the output equation based on present state. could u please elaborate why u said next state is not ready yet.

Also keep in mind that a 3 input XOR is a finder of odd populations of 1s. Thus 0 XOR 0 XOR 0 equals 0. You have other similar mistakes.
correct output eqn is A' XOR B XOR Q. A is inverted here. look at the circuit. i think that elilminates all the mistakes.

N.B. any suggestion would be much appreciated

Last edited:

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
You are right about the output, it was a dumb mistake from my part. Sorry for the misconception.

Let's explain a bit about the present and the next state. I will refer to the present state as Q and the next state as Qn. You will also find it as Q' elsewhere.