preventative maintenance - waste of time?

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
I am a Navy veteran and one of the things that really bugged me about the Navy's preventative maintenance program was how utterly pointless I perceived most of it to be. Everything has a procedure - written by who knows - but seemingly by someone who lacked common sense. It all just seemed like busy work to me and I chocked it up to "the navy just has too many people with too much time on their hands so they invented PMs to give people a purpose." On the one occasion I brought this up to my superior I was told that I wasn't paid to think and that somebody alot smarter than me had written these and I was to follow them to the "T" or risk punishment.

one example - vacuuming out sealed enclosures. These enclosures are milspec, designed to be submerged in salt water indefinitely without leaking (sealed with an indestructible gasket and sealed screw fasteners every 2 inches) , yet you have to go in monthly and vacuum it. I was on the boat for 3 years doing this monthly PM which works out to 36 times and I never encountered a speck of dust. It was my opinion that I was causing more harm than good - constantly working the screws back forth causing them to wear out faster.

Now I work maintenance in a manufacturing facility and it's the same story. I can't count how many times I've been pulled off what I consider to be a more important task to go do some mundane PM full of wordage like "Check motor", "Check motor brushes", "check belt, replace if worn", "check brake pressure".