Preamp for guitar

peter_morley

Joined Mar 12, 2011
I setup a circuit that amplifies the signal from my ipod/music device. I now want to be able to amplify my guitar signal from my pickups. I hook the guitar up to my circuit as if it was an ipod and I get a low volume sound out of the speaker. What I want to do is leave my ipod amp as is so I can use it for the ipod but if I want to play guitar all I have to do is hook up the preamp to the existing amp. I'm not really good with transistors yet because I have only done a few things with them. I tried using a darlington pair IC, the ULN2803APG chip but I couldn't get it working. Basically I want to amplify the guitar signal a bit more so the power amp has more to work with. Any simple ideas for my problem so I can understand how the pre amp works? I have looked online and most circuits are quite daunting to understand.

Hi there,

I haven't made an audio amplifier (I intend to do so for my various musical instruments in the future), but this was recommended to me by Lukasoft, here on AAC: http://www.till.com/articles/GuitarPreamp/. It looks like it's a fairly simple circuit, but apparently it has a great sound. Try PMing lukasoft, I think he's made them and has advice.

Good luck,
Barnaby

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
Hi there,

I haven't made an audio amplifier (I intend to do so for my various musical instruments in the future), but this was recommended to me by Lukasoft, here on AAC: http://www.till.com/articles/GuitarPreamp/. It looks like it's a fairly simple circuit, but apparently it has a great sound. Try PMing lukasoft, I think he's made them and has advice.

Good luck,
Barnaby
This looks to be intended for a piezoelectric pickup, which requires a high input impedance, but not much voltage gain as the voltage into a suitably high impedance is actually fairly big.

That is OK if the OPs guitar has a piezo pickup, but the more usual magnetic pickups need more voltage gain.

Joined Nov 30, 2010