Pre-amplifier and Amplifier difference

myheart22

Joined Dec 5, 2010
Hi!

I am a 3rd-yr ECE student from the Philippines.

Until now I am confused with the difference between Preamplifier and Amplifier.
We had a design proposal on Audio Power Amplifier but then, our work is always been trashed by our professor because I can't answer him what is the purpose of the preamp if there is already a power amplifier. :/

Moreover, can you please tell me what is the advantage of having a preamp. And what may be the output if I didn't include the preamp on our design.

Any kind of help will be much appreciated. Thank you! :)

tyblu

Joined Nov 29, 2010
Preamp is a highly linear, high input impedance amp. It is meant to buffer the input and amplify the signal to levels that can be used by processing or further amplification circuitry. They often follow and precede crossovers. You have likely made a multistage amp -- the first few stages could be called a preamp. Some signals are low power and cannot directly drive components in a typical power amplifier, like power transistors.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

A Pre-Amplifier is the part that amplifies the signals from the Mic. MD-head or other small signal source to line level.
In the pre-amp. you can also switch or mix the signals.
Also you will find a tone-control in the pre-amp.

The Power-Amplifier amplifies the line-signal to the high power level needed to drive the speakers.

On this site you will find a lot of information on it:
http://sound.westhost.com/

Bertus

myheart22

Joined Dec 5, 2010
Thanks!