powering a rapid on/off relay for electromagnets?

kiel long

Joined Apr 11, 2009
hi everyone, probably a newbie question..but im new to electronics.

basically, im doing an art project for university and this will require that i attract ferro fluid (or some other magnetic stuff...) at a very rapid rate (to create a wave like pattern).

i have (or can get hold of) a controller that will switch the relays at a very quick rate (upwards of cycles of 10 hz which is all i need.) i also have the electro magnets (thanks ebay :) ) and i can get the relays easily enough.. but......

what can i use as the "large" power for the magnets (there is four of them)?
if it is being turned on and off at 10hz cycles wont it trip all the fuses in the house?? and how can i prevent this??? is there some kind of a transformer power suply that can deal with it??
it wont be a constant on off @ 10hz either sometimes it will be slower and longer holds and other times it will be short little holds...
the magnets are http://www.magnetschultz.co.uk/docs/Electromagnets/GMH GZZ.pdf ( the 030 24v model) i was told that 3.6w is what they need???

any help to this would be much apreciated... hope i explained it well enough for you all to understand..
ps im in the uk if this changes anything power wise. :D
thanks.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

In the datasheet there are different sizes and voltages.
What size and voltage do you intend to use?

Greetings,
Bertus

kiel long

Joined Apr 11, 2009
hi there, well on the sheet they are the 030
it says on the side of the magnet gmhx030x00d02, =24v 100%ed
so im guessing that it is 24v dc.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Use LM/SE/NE555 timers along with suitable power MOSFETs to sink current from the electromagnets. Make sure you use diodes connected in reverse (cathode towards +V) across each electromagnet's windings; otherwise when the MOSFETs are turned off, the reverse-EMF across the windings could destroy the MOSFET.