Powerful Short-circuit protected DC supply

EnthusiasticStudent

Joined May 5, 2011
I'm building my end-of-year project which is a requirement for graduation, but I'm having a lot of difficulties finding a short-circuit protected DC dual rail power supply for my project.
I am building an amplifier with six channels, each powered by its own amplifier circuit at about 150W. Each amp requires 35V at 5A, so that's 30A minimum I need this circuit to push out. Space is a problem, as this is my first project at this scale and complexity, I am almost completely lost. Also to be powered by this supply are a few LEDs, two 5 band equalizers and a thermistor control circuit. So, to be safe I need about 35A at 35V.

I've tried to design a circuit by adding short circuit protection components, but I'm afraid to order the parts for it because if it doesn't work, it'll just be a waste, and shipping is expensive to where I live. Also, I'm pressed for time as my project is due the 24th of May, or thereabout.

I would be eternally grateful for any ideas, thanks.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
To Power that much amps you will need a transformer of around 1.3KVA
Beside Building the project, where do you think you can find the transformer.

As for shipping, we dunno where you are at.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I don't know if this is relevant, but modern amplifiers generally have higher specs for each channel than their power supply is capable of delivering to all channels simultaneously. This is simply because music and movie content rarely drives all channels to the same level at the same time. So building the power supply - the costliest part of the amp - to do that, is just overkill. I don't know if there are any hard guidelines for this, but I've seen power supplies capable of maybe only 70% of the sum of all the individual channels.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
It begs the question what kind of short circuit protection do you need?

Current limit?
Voltage fold back?