Power Supply Help

sausages

Joined Mar 8, 2007
Hello,
I'm having some problems designing a power supply for two voltage regulators. They are needed to power a lamp at 12V and a HT12D chip at 5V.

I am told that the peak voltage of the transformer is 22v @50hz , with an output resistance 0.9ohm. So I then full wave rectify this and am left with 20.6V. I then tried to calculate my value for the smoothing capactior using the formula below to get a 10% ripple:

C= 5xIo
Vsxf

Using this calculation I got a value of 77.27mF ( this seems like a big capacitor but I've never done anything like this before so it could be correct )

I calculated the Io by using ohm's law ( Transformer RMS / 0.9 ohm ) giving 17A

This is where my problems start to begin, I think :D
I'm using the 7805 and the 7815. Each are rated P<15W. Am I right in assuming that the voltage after the diode rectifier is 22-1.4= 20.6V.

I know that I'll need a resistor to limit the current inputted to the chips to ensure P<15W. I assumed the current inputted to the regulator was 0.6A with a voltage drop of 3 across the resistor ( 17.6 x .6 = 10.56W )
Now I'm pretty sure that this is wrong but as I said I haven't done anything like this before really.

Any help would be much appreciated, I think I've layed this out as clearly as I can, and thanks to anyone who replies!

Damien

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
You are doing this a bit wrong.. I didn't check out your equation and am taking your word for it. You seem to be calculating for a 10% ripple under a 17A load. I don't think your lamp and IC will be drawing nearly this much current!!

Io is the nominal current that you wish to supply, not maximum. Secondly, if your voltage regulators were to supply this amount of current, they'd be destroyed very quickly anyways :)

Steve

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004