Potentiometer Question

nfd802

Joined Apr 24, 2009
I am coaching 4th and 5th graders in an Elementary School Science Olympiad event about circuits. I am not an electrical engineer or hobbiest, but volunteered that I could probably handle this event if no one else stepped up to coach (I am a materials engineer).The kids are being tested on DC circuits - lamps, resistors, LEDs, diodes, capacitors, etc.

One of the other elements is a potentiometer. We have covered what it does, how it can be used as a variable resistor as well. One of the kids asked what the 4th terminal was for (I had wondered, too). I had actually opened one up to show the kids how it worked. We could see, and verified with our multimeter that it didn't seem to be connected to the resistor. I told the kids I would try to find out its function.

So - my question is: Why is this mysterious 4th terminal there?

Thanks in advance,

Nancy

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
If it is an audio POT, it can be a separate tap. Used for stereo volume control.

Do you have a picture or a brand name and model number?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Might that terminal have been a locating lug to go in a hole to orient the pot when mounting in a panel? A photo would be interesting.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
True, it may be for stability when soldered to a pcb. That way it wont wiggle when its turned. Some power jacks use an additional pin for mounting rather than power.

nfd802

Joined Apr 24, 2009
Wow - such quick responses.

I have uploaded a couple of pictures - poor quality, sorry (only have my cell phone camera right now). My guess was that the 4th terminal had to do with mounting.

Thanks again.

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Still a mystery. That lug is a solder terminal, not a locating pin. When you rotate the shaft all the way CCW, is there a click?

Can you get a name and part number off the case? All I can see is that it's an inexpensive carbon pot with a strange lug.

someonesdad