Potentiometer help

careless_monkey

Joined Jan 11, 2011
Hey All!
I'm looking for help in controlling a potentiometer. I'm just starting out to build a robot for my lab tech.

What I want to do is that I have 2 wheels with motor connected to a shaft and hooked up to a 9V battery. I think I can make the wheels go forward, but in order to turn them I will need to use a potentiometer so that one wheel rotates less than the other. What is the best way to do this?
I googled and found the three terminal potentiometer devices, but is there any other way to control the potentiometer?

Last edited:

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Pots typically aren't rated for the level of power you are using.

If you are using a uC to control the speed/steering, add in a variable to slow the PWM on one driver so that wheel goes a bit slower. You could use a "balance pot", where the output is the input to a uC's ADC, but that is a bit overkill for what you are trying to achieve.

Using resistance to slow a motor has many disadvantages, since the power is simply dissipated as heat. The maximum torque of that motor would be reduced, so the other side would "outrun" the slowed motor when under load.

Using PWM for both motors is the simplest, and the best "start" to a uC robot, task 1: Make it go in a straight line (common problem)

careless_monkey

Joined Jan 11, 2011
Pots typically aren't rated for the level of power you are using.

If you are using a uC to control the speed/steering, add in a variable to slow the PWM on one driver so that wheel goes a bit slower. You could use a "balance pot", where the output is the input to a uC's ADC, but that is a bit overkill for what you are trying to achieve.

Using resistance to slow a motor has many disadvantages, since the power is simply dissipated as heat. The maximum torque of that motor would be reduced, so the other side would "outrun" the slowed motor when under load.