Potential back/emf problem driving motor?

fastwalker

Joined Jun 24, 2009
Guys,

I'm not that experienced in driving large DC motors. At work my project is to monitor the current drawn by a variable speed DC motor. The motor is a 141V DC motor from Panasonic. It has on-board power electronics so you can control the speed with a 0-5V signal. I'm using a 1000uF filter capacitor across it to stabilize the voltage. The motor draws about 1A when running.

I'm measuring the current across a shunt resistor on the low side, using a TI INA-195 shunt amplifier to get a nice voltage out of the mV range. This chip seems to work fine, but it looks like I've blown up a couple of them in one experiement where I was turning the motor on and off about every 60s. Could I be getting a voltage spike when turning off the motor? Should I add a diode across the motor to protect from back/emf voltage spikes? If yes, what kind of diode should I use?

Thanks for any help.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Could I be getting a voltage spike when turning off the motor?
Yes. If it's a brushed universal-type motor, when the power is disconnected and the motor is winding down, it will act as a generator. [eta] the following sentence is not correct: The voltage output will be in reverse polarity from what was being applied to it.

Should I add a diode across the motor to protect from back/emf voltage spikes?
That would help signficantly.
If yes, what kind of diode should I use?
You could use a 1N5402 to 1N5408 rectifier diode. They're rated for 3A at 200 to 1KV, depending on the last digit of the part number; 2=200v, 8=1kv.

If your 1000uF capacitor is a polarized aluminum electrolytic capacitor, the reverse EMF may have damaged/destroyed it already. if it's non-polarized, you might be OK.

Last edited:

fastwalker

Joined Jun 24, 2009
Thanks for the response, very helpful.