Porting 16F630 code to 16F628A

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Hi,

I have plans to build this project http://www.ladyada.net/make/minipov/index.html which uses a 16F630 PIC. But I'm from India and here only 16F628A is available and I have bought one. Comparing datasheets and codes I found that Port B needs to be changed to port C for 628 and I did so. But still i get errors telling 'Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct.' in 3 lines. Can anybody show me some light on this as Im totally new to microcontroller programming. I can understand the change needed to schematic, but do I need anymore changes to the program?? This is the original source code http://www.ladyada.net/media/minipov/minipov.asm Thanks in advance.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

I am not that familiar with pic programming (just started).
Did you also change the include-line at the beginning?
The 'Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct.' warning is not important, you can ignore it.
That seems to be something in the MPlab software.

Bertus

jj_alukkas

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Thanks for the reply Bertus.

Yes I have changed the include line for the new pic.. I am new with programming too, so maybe my mistake in adding the files and building. I had MPLAB v6 while doing this and now downloaded the latest version yesterday. Will try with that. Also do u have any suggessions for how to start from basic compilation and programming in MPLAB for PIC 16F's? Thanks a lot..

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
302 Register in operand not in bank 0. Ensure that bank bits are correct.