Please help with a component ID and troubleshoot...

cacrawfo

Joined May 4, 2008
Hello,
I am a young business owner, and I am hoping someone here can help me with a problem. Just the other day, an electrical storm destroyed some equipment at my machine shop. We lost a phone, fax, laser printer, and a PC. The PC was hooked to my CNC milling machine via an RS232 serial cable. The machine was disconnected from the mains, but was damaged. The machine is 1985' vintage, and the controller hardware is all in a card-cage. The CRT now shows a flashing "error asynch communication".
I have pulled the main CPU board, as this has the RS232 port on it and I figure that is where the surge got in. There are 2 serial ports, and each goes directly to a 75154 quad line reciever and 75188 quad line driver. (pic zpu5.jpg) I would like to think that maybe one or both of these chips fried and is now shorting the boards power bus to ground, effectively stopping the board from functioning. I had previously socketed the 75145 reciever chip to test for an unrelated serial problem, and measured a very low resistance between Vcc and Gnd. I swapped out that chip and it still does not work.

OK, so here is my question: There are several NEC devices on the board that I think may be voltage supressor diodes? (pic zpu3.jpg) There are 2 right next to the card-cage headers, and they are marked "10M" and "35V" they also are stamped "NEC" "+3KI" but that is just the brand and maybe a date code?

Does that maybe mean 35 volt, 1000w voltage supressor? They are banded with white and the board is marked "+", so they have a polarity. What is the failure mode for these, and how can I test them? (will they fail and short?) If I need to replace them, will the replacement be an axial lead like a regular diode? I have never seen them in this square packaging before....