Please Help Critique my Solar Racing Robot Circuit

brandon1213

Joined Feb 21, 2010
Hi Everyone,

I'm an amateur roboticist trying to design my very first circuit. It is a circuit to power and control a little solar powered car with a motor for acceleration and servo for steering. It's probably a little ambitious for a first circuit, but I'm really determined to build it!

I've played around with some solar powered robot kits before, but this is my first time trying to design my own robot. All my knowledge has come from online tutorials I've been able to get my hands on. I'd really appreciate it if someone more experienced could take a look and critique my schematic. I want to get some advice on it and fix it before I order parts and start building.

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/6392/solarracingrobotschemat.jpg

Thanks a lot!

-Brandon

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well, it IS a bit ambitious for a 1st project.

First off, the L293 connections just plain won't work as you have them wired.

1A, 2A, and 1,2EN are inputs to the A-side H-bridge - they need to come from your uC.
1Y, 2Y are outputs from the A-side H-bridge. They go to either side of your motor.
Since you only have one power source, both Vcc1 and Vcc2 need to connect to it. Right now, you're trying to power Vcc1 from your ATMega, and that just isn't going to work well.

Inputs 3A, 4A, and 3,4EN should be grounded if you are not going to use that side of the bridge. All GND pins should be connected to GND; they are used as a heat sink as well as an electrical connection.

Why are you driving a servo directly from the ATMega?

I see you have a 2F supercapacitor on the input side of the boost converter. It's going to take a long time to charge up, and supercapacitors have a pretty high ESR (equivalent series resistance) - it will get quite hot when the MAX856 boost converter starts up.