PicKit3

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008
Has anyone in here used PicKit 3? I'm a newbie to this debugger-programmer, and I'm stuck on the examples in the included files from Microchip. Can anyone in here help me get me going?

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008
A dev board with a particular MCU. This is a PIC18f45k20. When I add an outside source, the LEDs act like a neon sign that goes from one end to the other and recycles. I'm using 3.25 volts external to do this. But when I run the above program, nothing changes. And the output error says that debug was not ready and that I should check my configuration files.

Potato Pudding

Joined Jun 11, 2010
I don't think it will hurt the PICkit but it won't DEBUG if it is trying to power the board with the USB while the board also has external power.

And I think that the Dev board (bundled with PK3) schematics and other documentation are on the Microchip Web Site.

The LEDs might need nearly 3 Volts but I don't think that too low of a voltage is your problem.

Try to run the board from the USB. If the USB is not up to the standard power level then try using a powered hub.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I don't think it will hurt the PICkit but it won't DEBUG if it is trying to power the board with the USB while the board also has external power.

And I think that the Dev board (bundled with PK3) schematics and other documentation are on the Microchip Web Site.

The LEDs might need nearly 3 Volts but I don't think that too low of a voltage is your problem.

Try to run the board from the USB. If the USB is not up to the standard power level then try using a powered hub.
Did you run through the sample code to light the lights on the demo board? Did that work?

You can remove JP1 and use the same program to turn your light on and off but you need to be sure you don't exceed the current capacity of the output pins.