PicBasic help

Webbi

Joined Aug 13, 2013
Good day everyone, I’m new in this arena soliciting your advise.
Can anyone give me some advice on a decision I’ve to make where Pic-Basic Programming is concern? I need a kit / software with a very simple learning curve... (Assembly and C language scares me a whole lot).

I want to write codes and have them function on the fly by using a development / evaluation board. The Pic of choice is the 16fxxx series, please advise which system you believe is the most appropriate for my needs, at present controlling Leds is my first project of choice.
Someone recommended the following site to me but I still need your expertly advise, this is only a board, - I’m unaware if there is a special software to work with it, please inform -- Thank you.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/PIC-MCU-Microcontroller-Development-Board-PIC-16F877A-/251312262259

Webbie

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
PBP is easier to use with Microcode Studio than MPLAB, but you still need MPASM. I have tried development boards, but the best platform for me is a combination of a solderless breadboard with plug in components and subassemblies. I use a PICkit2 as my programmer.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I've never been a fan of PBP due to it's very high purchase price and some critical shortcomings (ignoring improper code without any notice), though it has been several years since I used it. (It was about the only choice at the time).

I do recommend Oshonsoft for a Basic compiler as it works incredibly well and is quote inexpensive. There are some sample programs listed, though not quite for a pure beginner. No boards either, he does outline how to build them.

Mikroelectronika makes a good Basic compiler (I have not personally used it) and some good development boards. I do not know what tutorials they have.