Pic18f4455 adc problem

micro_noob

Joined Aug 6, 2012
Good day!

Hi, I'm a newbie in microcontroller interfacing and I would like to seek help.

Our project was to make an RC-meter using PIC18F4455 and right now, I'm working on the resistance-meter of our project.
The simple schematic I used is attached here.
The code with comments is shown below.

Rich (BB code):
#include<P18F4455.INC>
;203008 - pickit number

CONFIG	FOSC = INTOSC_EC
	CONFIG	WDT = OFF
	CONFIG	PBADEN = OFF
	CONFIG	MCLRE = ON
	CONFIG	DEBUG = ON
	CONFIG	ICPRT = ON
	CONFIG	LVP = OFF
	CONFIG	PWRT = ON

ORG 	0x000
	GOTO	MAIN

MAIN
; configure clock	
	MOVLW	b'01110010'		; set internal oscillator to 8MHz
	MOVWF	OSCCON		
; configure serial communication
	MOVLW	b'10000000'		; to access Tx and Rx pins
	MOVWF	SPEN
	MOVLW	b'11111111'		; use alternate function
	MOVWF	TRISC
	MOVLW	b'00100100'		; transmit enabled; high speed baud rate
	MOVWF	TXSTA
	MOVLW	b'10010000'		; serial port enabled; receiver enabled
	MOVWF	RCSTA
	CLRF	BAUDCON
	MOVLW	d'25'			; for 19.2 kbps baud rate
	MOVWF	SPBRG
; configure ADC
	MOVLW	b'00000001'		; use AN0 for analog input, ADC enabled
	MOVWF	ADCON0
	MOVLW	b'00001110'		; Vdd=5, Vss=GND, only AN0 is analog
	MOVWF	ADCON1
	MOVLW	b'00010001'		; left-justified, 4 TAD, Fosc/8
	MOVWF	ADCON2

MAIN_LOOP
; pseudocode:
; wait 10us acq time
; begin conversion
; wait until completed (polling GO/DONE bit)
; begin transmission
; repeat

BSF		ADCON0,1	; begin conversion
WAIT_ADC
	BTFSC	ADCON0,1
	GOTO	WAIT_ADC	; wait til finished

; begin transmission
TRANSMIT1
	BTFSS	PIR1,TXIF
	GOTO	TRANSMIT1
	MOVLW	ADRESH
	MOVWF	TXREG
	CLRF	TXREG

TRANSMIT2
	BTFSS	PIR1,TXIF
	GOTO	TRANSMIT2
	MOVLW	ADRESL
	MOVWF	TXREG

GOTO	MAIN_LOOP

END
Currently I am testing if I have set up the ADC configuration correctly, so I am sending the contents of ADRESH and ADRESL registers to the hyperteminal of my PC using serial communication (RS-232).