Pic16f88 JAL programming

FFtravism

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I am very new to PIC programming as a first off. I have a circuit I am working on with a PIC16F88 and I been programming it with JALv2. The circuit basically flashes a bunch of LED's. I have a program of flashes that run. I want to be able to hook up a SPTT switch. Switch it to the left side and it will run a set of code. Switch it to the right and it will run a separate set of code. Is this possible? I included my code it's missing the procedures as they are long but the main code and calls are in there.
Thank you for any help
Travis

Notes: I want the led flash coding to run until the switch is moved to the left or right pole.

Attachments

Last edited:

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007
Yes, it is possible.
First, I haven't look at you code, but I'm just working with general ideas.
I would first hook up the switch (left & right) to two inputs of the uC.

Then my pseudo-code would look like:
;Loop:
; Read and debounce switch input pins
; IF Left_Pin == 1
; Goto Left_Code
; IF Right_Pin == 1
; Goto Right_Code
; Goto Flash_LEDs
; Goto Loop ; not really needed, but Just In Case...

All subroutines (Left_Code, Right_Code, and Flash_LEDs) would end with a Goto Loop.

(For all those fainting at the sight of Gotos, Goto is a valid opcode in PIC assembler.)

If the Flash_LEDs routine makes the response to the switch changing too slow, I would split it with a state counter before trying an interrupt.

--Rich

FFtravism

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I was looking for something more instant.. hrmm.. The application is a LED light bar for an emergancy vehicle. the led's will be flashing constant and I want to have a switch to make it change patterns in to a arrow stick where it flashes each section from left to right or right to left depending on the switch.

Thanks
Travis

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004