PIC16F877A Oscillator pin problem?

lloydi12345

Joined Aug 15, 2010
I tried a simple flashing LEDs program on a breadboard and it worked well even if the two vcc and gnd aren't hooked together with the other vcc and gnd pin of the PIC.

Breadboard connections:
pin 1 - 10k ohms to Vcc
pin 13 & 14 - 4mhz xt osc
pin 32 - vcc
pin 31 - gnd

I already designed alot of PCBs and this is my first time to encounter this problem. Flashing LEDs on my newly designed PCB isn't working. What's strange is that, when I touch pin 13 of the PIC or even the copper path going to it makes the PIC work properly, but when I'm not touching it by my finger, the PIC wont make the LEDs flash.

PCB connections:
pin 1 - 10k ohms to Vcc
pin 13 & 14 - 4mhz xt osc
pin 32 - vcc
pin 31 - gnd

Can you help me?

I tried desoldering the 4mhz XT Osc from the PCB and made a touch of my finger on pin 13, the LEDs go flash.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Take a look at figure 14-1 in the data sheet. And solder in some caps from each crystal leg to ground. Place the cap as close to crystal as you can. It could also be a bad solder

lloydi12345

Joined Aug 15, 2010
Take a look at figure 14-1 in the data sheet. And solder in some caps from each crystal leg to ground. Place the cap as close to crystal as you can. It could also be a bad solder
Erhm, I have 2 22pf Caps soldered already going to the ground and it is 1cm away from the XT crystal.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Erhm, I have 2 22pf Caps soldered already going to the ground and it is 1cm away from the XT crystal.
Erhm......I am not clairvoyant. And you did not mention any cap in your first post. So how could know anything about any caps then:confused:
Make it a habbit of posting ALL relevant information like schematics or code in your first post. Just a friendly tip:)

lloydi12345

Joined Aug 15, 2010
:) Okay sir, but I'm still charging the cam's battery.. BTW, here is my source code

Rich (BB code):