PIC Programming question (interrupts)

mrmodest

Joined Aug 31, 2012
Greetings all,

this is my first post to this forum but I will try to stay within guidelines for posting. Basically, I am using the PIC12F683 to read the RPM signal from a CPU fan. I know this seems easy, but I am having trouble figuring out how to write the code to enable to interrupt so that I can count the rising edges that can be read. I have written the code for an A/D which works and have set everything else up in the code. How do I write an interrupt that will time the edges? Have any of you done this before? By the way this is not for school, I have already received my engineering degree. This is for my own experimentation. I am not very experienced with programming PICS but have done this same application using another chip. Also, I am writing the code with a C compiler.

Datasheet for this PIC- http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/devicedoc/41211d_.pdf

There is so much information on the datasheet regarding interrupts that I do not know where to simply begin! Should I enable the global interrupt or will I not need it for this specific task? I basically need an explanation of how I might go about this, or maybe point me in the right direction please?

Thank you for the help in advance. :)
I will continue to post my progress.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Interrupts are generated by events in the peripheral devices. Each of the interrupt sources, and there are dozens, has an enable bit. In order for a specific interrupt to happen one of the individual enable bits must be a 1. It is also the case that the Global Interrupt Enable bit must be a one. All of the interrupts will send the processor to the same location, like address 0x0004. There you must test all of the possible interrupt flags that could be the source and service the correct one as quickly and expeditiously as possible. NB. This does not mean you have to check every flag; you only check the ones that you know are enabled.