PIC Memory Addressing

Tobytyke

Joined Oct 20, 2013
Hi,

I am completely new to PIC programming (I did COBOL some years ago and did some Assembly at college)

I want to design and build a small project with two PIC's

PIC 1 - Monitors 12 Digital Inputs and sends the data to PIC 2

PIC 2 - Is remote and will light a LED or LED(s) depending on the status of the 12 Digital inputs the interface has sent to PIC 1

PIC 2 meanwhile is looking for the operator pressing a button

It then detects the button press and sends the data to PIC 1

PIC 1 I guess would then perform a quick interupt routine where it sets the appropriate pin of the port corresponding to the button pressed to Ground (As the interface is looking for a Ground) before returning to the main program, monitoring the 12 Digital Inputs

So that is the grand plan

However, first I need to walk before I can run and need to learn PIC programming for dummies

I have been spending lots of time reading very helpful tutorials and I know a lot of people write in "C" or "Basic" but I want to stick to assembler because for me (at the moment) it is easier to follow

The gist of what I understand so far is this

1) The PIC has several banks of memory (depending on which one you use)

2)On powerup the PIC defaults to BANK 0

3)In order to write to the correct BANK, you must set the RP0 or RP1 flag

so far so good

4)Memory is like a set of drawers and several of them are available to store stuff in

5)In order to store something you must first put it into temporary storage AKA the W register (I think also called the accumulator)

You can then move it to another draw which will overwrite the current content of that drawer

Now it gets really confusing for me

A lot of tutorials say that memory starts at 20h (20 Hex)

In the EXAMPLE A (I assume written in Assembly) It looks like you are able to assign meaningful names to the areas of memory (I hope)

So for example it looks like they equate timera to memory location 20(hex)