PIC Maths. trying to calculate %

chrisw1990

Joined Oct 22, 2011
Rich (BB code):
float AccelPerc=0, BrakePerc=0;

AccelPerc=(AccelPedV/1024)*100;  //where accelpedv is 10-bit ADC Sample.
it always returns zero.. what am i doing wrong?

sbixby

Joined May 8, 2010
Saw this after-the-fact, but I wouldn't say "prefers".

I know nothing of PIC Basic (?), but I'm a long-time software engineer.

I suspect that AccelPedV is an integer type and thus AccelPedV / 1023 (or 1024) is defaulting to an integral value. Since AccelPedV is *always* less than 1024, being a 10-bit value, the division always comes out to zero.

Also - multiplying by 100 first and then dividing still does integer math, although that's undoubtedly more efficient on an MPU, and probably precise enough.

To be more precise in a floating point value, you'd want to convert AccelPedV to a floating type first, then do the math around it, so that the division and multiplication parts (in either order) result in floating-point intermediate values.

vpoko

Joined Jan 5, 2012
Why? A 10bit ADC output is in binary 2^10 which is scaled at 1024.

In the same way a percentage is scaled in decimal at 100 (10^2) and math uses the constant 100.
1023 is right. A 10 bit number can range from 0..1023 (1024 distinct possibilities). If you divide by 1024, then the maximum output won't be 100%.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
2^10 has 1024 states. These are numbered 0 thru 1023.

In binary they look like 0b00,0000,0000 thru 0b11,1111,1111. Commas added to help you count the bits, of course.

The calculator built into windows can actually be quite helpful here as in scientific mode it has hex and binary (octal too for you octogenarians). Very useful to calculate constants most easily seen in one form (say "1111111111" for binary or 0x3FF in hex.

(1023 is correct final answer.)

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008