PIC kit 2 start-up problems

poriet

Joined Feb 26, 2010
Hi,
I've just bought the PIC kit 2 and started to go through the 'lessons' for the 16F690. I did some stuff on the 16F84 years ago, so I'm not a total newbie, but I cannot even get beyond lesson 2 as I cannot make sense of the syntax. It must be right, but it looks all wrong to me. Specifically:

The program wants delay so it makes a loop using a file it names DELAY.
This is a counter, the idea being to count down from 256. The instruction is DECFSZ. Now there are 2 things that baffle me ( only 2? ).

1. Arent you supposed to put binary 1111 1111 into the file before you decrement it? The program doesnt.

2. The DECFSZ syntax ( when I did the F84 ) was DECFSZ, file, d. The actual the instruction is DECFSZ, DELAY, f. What on Earth is 'f'? I cant see any mention of it on the datasheet; in any case, isnt it supposed to be either 0 or 1?

Hope somebody can help me here as I'm well and truly stuck.
If you want to send a private email as well, please feel free; I dont get to this URL often.

Bruce

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
Hi,
I've just bought the PIC kit 2 and started to go through the 'lessons' for the 16F690. I did some stuff on the 16F84 years ago, so I'm not a total newbie, but I cannot even get beyond lesson 2 as I cannot make sense of the syntax. It must be right, but it looks all wrong to me. Specifically:

The program wants delay so it makes a loop using a file it names DELAY.
This is a counter, the idea being to count down from 256. The instruction is DECFSZ. Now there are 2 things that baffle me ( only 2? ).

1. Arent you supposed to put binary 1111 1111 into the file before you decrement it? The program doesnt.

2. The DECFSZ syntax ( when I did the F84 ) was DECFSZ, file, d. The actual the instruction is DECFSZ, DELAY, f. What on Earth is 'f'? I cant see any mention of it on the datasheet; in any case, isnt it supposed to be either 0 or 1?

Hope somebody can help me here as I'm well and truly stuck.