PIC-control sense and read IR signal

alicia

Joined Oct 6, 2008
Hi, i'm totally new to PIC. I start to learn it for my project. I would need some helps, below is some parts of my coding:

movlw D'4'
movwf J
movwf K

dec:
decfsz J,f
goto readbit
goto led_off

readbit:
btfsc PORTA,J
goto loop2
goto dec

What i want to ask is that could i actually compare the signal from port with the J that i have decrease as 'btfsc PORTA,J'?

I try to simulate but the result is different so i wonder where i have make mistake or what i have not consider into my coding.

Really need help asap!!! Thanks!!!

n9352527

Joined Oct 14, 2005
What i want to ask is that could i actually compare the signal from port with the J that i have decrease as 'btfsc PORTA,J'?
In short, no. btfsc needs two parameters, the first is register file address and the second is a literal between 0 to 7 (3 bits).

The btfsc PORTA, J command might actually be interpreted as test the bit number indexed by the least significant 3 bits of J register file address of PORTA instead of the bit number indexed by the value of J register file.

alicia

Joined Oct 6, 2008
i got a few questions and hope to get reply for my questions.
if i put portb as input and i have the following commands:

movf rowMask,w
andwf keyMask,f
movf keyMask,w
movwf PORTB

what i want to ask is whether the command 'movwf PORTB' going to move the previous stored w from the command ' movf keyMask,w' to PORTB or it is going to store what is from the input?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
I think that takes more ability than a PIC has got. Does yours (model so far unstated) have a built-in ethernet interface?

n9352527

Joined Oct 14, 2005
Depending on the model. On the software side, Microchip offers a free TCP/IP stack. On the hardware side, there is at least one PIC18 part with internal ethernet MAC + Phy. Microchip also has a separate MAC + Phy with serial interface.