PIC 18F4520 MSSP (SPI mode) question/issue

agroom

Joined Oct 15, 2010
This is my first time using the MSSP module on a PIC chip, though I've got some intermediate experience using other other modules. Because this is my first attempt, I just wrote a simple test program that outputs 1010... to see with the timing and just make sure it's working correctly.

The 18F4520 is on a custom prototype board called a Boogie Board we made in school. I have a Saleae Logic Analyzer channel 0 and 1 hooked up to the SPI (RC5) and CLK(RC3) pins, respectively, and grounded to the BB's ground. Here's my sample program:

Rich (BB code):
#include <18F4520.h>
#use delay (clock = 20000000)
#fuses HS, NOWDT, NOLVP
#include "library\registers.h" // register lib file

main(){

*TRISC = 0x00;         // SDO, CLK output (ignoring input)
   *SSPSTAT &= 0xBF;   // transition idle->active
   *SSPCON1 &= 0x20;   // Idle low, SPI Master, clk = Fosc/4
   *SSPCON1 |= 0x20;   // Enable

while(1){
      *SSPBUF = 0xAA;  // output 1010 1010
      //while(*SSPSTAT & 0x01);
   }
}
Note: Not sure if I need the while(*SSPSTAT & 0x01); but I get the same output either way. Here I'm just waiting for the buffer full flag bit to clear before sending the next value.

Attached are two Saleae screeshots, one zoomed in and the other zoomed out. The 0xAA output is working correctly based on the clock signal, but the clock looks like it's outputting in bursts. I guess this is where I'm stuck because I wouldn't think that's correct. Is this how SPI works or more likely what am I doing wrong?

Attachments

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Its not unusual to see some gap between transmissions since there is some overhead associated with reloading SSPBUF with new data.

You do need to poll/use an interrupt with BF/ SSPIF to avoid write collisions. You only have one level of buffering. Maybe you are getting away with it here since your data is the same each time. You won't when you are sending different data.