Phone call from Windows Support!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I received my usual monthly call from Windows Service Support advising me of the fact my computer was spewing out some corrupted emails etc.
When I first received these calls just over a year ago from Islamabad or whatever part of the Indian subcontinent they originate from I used to get irritated and impatient with the whole scam.
Since then I sort of look forward to it, Now I dream up all kinds of wind ups to keep the guy hoping he has me hooked.
It usually ends with a response which I assume is some kind of cursing in either Hindi or Punjabi.
Anyone else have a ploy.
Max.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
I play along as Mickey the Dunce. Can't find that menu, mistyping the commands, acting surprised at the number of errors, etc... In actuality, I am sitting in my comfy chair with a cold beer. I do this until i get bored or they give up. I might tell them I am a Windows security expert eventually and get hung up on.

Above all, have fun!

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I get these calls too. When they get to the part where they ask if my computer is on I say no it is in the other room. They ask me to turn it on, so I say sure, put my phone down, and go about my business.

I wonder how long they wait online for me to return.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Lucky me.:rolleyes: Most of my nuisance calls are auto-dialed recordings that come from inside the U.S. (as far as I can tell). Never have found out what they're selling when the recording starts out with, "The F.B.I reports..."

Probably because I hang up before it gets to the 4th word.

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Lucky me.:rolleyes: Most of my nuisance calls are auto-dialed recordings that come from inside the U.S. (as far as I can tell). Never have found out what they're selling when the recording starts out with, "The F.B.I reports..."

Probably because I hang up before it gets to the 4th word.