Phasor Diagram of Phase Shifter [Art of Electronics Ch.2]

Seilo

Joined Jul 16, 2013
Hello everybody!

Since i'm new to the forum I guess it's a good idea to introduce myself. I'm 27 year old & from Germany. I'm a hardware designer and mostly work with digital circuits. I'm currently reading "The Art of Electronics" by Horowitz & Hill to freshen up my analog skills.

I stumbled upon a phasor diagram which has been bugging me for hours now, maybe someone can shed some light.

I attached the figures from the book. It shows a
  • a phase splitter circuits
  • a circuit to use the splitter as a phase shifter
  • a phasor diagram to show how and why the shifter works

So \(v_1\) is the voltage in phase, \(v_2\) is 180° out of phase. This can be seen as the two vectors pointing right and left.

To the question(s):
  • The vector direction \(V_R\) seems to be chosen arbitrarily. Why is that poosible? In the phasor diagrams I know, a resistor vector is 0° -> along the real axis.
  • The vector \(V_C\), by defintion, needs to form a 90° angle with the \(V_R\) vector (Z = -xC). It does that, but in the wrong direction I believe (+90°). To my understanding, a capacitive impedance should be -90°

This may seem like a detail, but that's just the kind of stuff that makes me question my knowledge on the subject. Any help appreciated!

Attachments

mitko89

Joined Sep 20, 2012
Your understanding is correct (at least the drawing you have posted seems fine to me). If you want to make sure you can check out the materials in the VOL. II -AC material in this website.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013