Phase Shifted PWM Signals

george020106

Joined May 29, 2013
Help me, please.

I am trying to build a circuit using op-amp (LM7171A, TI) to delay 180° of a PWM signal (0v-3.3v, 500kHz).

I barely know anything about circuit, since I am a civil student. That's why I am here looking for help.

Any input will be appreciate. Thanks all.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
if you already have the LM7171a, just build an inverting amplifier with gain of 1.

Start with both resistors at 10k ohms (output voltage will equal input voltage).

george020106

Joined May 29, 2013
if you already have the LM7171a, just build an inverting amplifier with gain of 1.

Start with both resistors at 10k ohms (output voltage will equal input voltage).
Thanks, I was thinking of inverting amplifier circuit, but the initial amplitude is 0v, not 1.65v (half of 3.3v). So after inverting, the PWM signal is not right. :(

Stuntman

Joined Mar 28, 2011
If I am reading the goal of this circuit correctly, george, the inverting amp will not work.

An inverting amp will only shift the signal 180° (and retain PWM characteristics) when the master signal is 50% Duty Cycle. (figure 1 and figure 2)

Unfortunately, to actually produce a PWM phase shift of 180° regardless of duty cycle, you'll need a propagation delay of 1us (period of 500kHz=2us). (figure 3)

This can be done digitally without too much trouble. But analog will get substantially more complex.

Attachments

Last edited:

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
An inverted signal is the same as a 180° phase shift.

Sorry, I don't think so. Its only when the stream is a square wave can one take the inversion as 180°phase SHIFT. The delay can be considered as +180° (leading) or as -180° (lagging).

In the case of a PWM, the two are NOT the same.

Attachments

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Help me, please.

I am trying to build a circuit using op-amp (LM7171A, TI) to delay 180° of a PWM signal (0v-3.3v, 500kHz).