Pedalboard power supply - help

dimi3

Joined Oct 25, 2008
Hi,

I’m new to the forum, and looking for some info and help for my project. I’m a guitarist myself and facing the problem as many others do, powering bunch of hungry pedals from one power supply on the pedal board.

What I would like to do is regulated power supply with isolated outputs to avoid ground loops, using a torodial transformer with multiple secondaries, and I want that its totally hum free and clean.

Why I want to build it? It’s only a power supply. Because what is currently on the market costs 200$ + with decent quality, and most of them are underrated with mA of current for my needs.

Then I need to pack it to very compact enclosure e.g. (6" x 3.4"x 1.75")

Specification for the supply would be something like:

Build as many outputs as you need.
9V,12V or 18V since each rail is separated this could be easily achieved.
Up to 1,5A per rail, depends on transformer selection. (Typically ordinary pedals need less then 100ma, but some also 300 and 400mA).

I searched the net for similar projects and found bunch of ideas, how to approach this. The best project I found was http://www.audioxpress.com/magsdirx/...tipton2926.pdf, but its huge rack version with ordinary transformers, and its missing some kind of DC protection circuit.

The PCB layouts are also available for this, but I thing that it could be done more compact, since I won’t putting it in the rack enclosure, I’m not really a PCB designer so I would need some help around this. If someone has some spare time to help I’m willing also to pay for the design. Basically what needs to be done is only 1 rail of power supply which is then copied as many times as many outputs somebody needs.

So my questions for all the good and experienced people on this board:

What is your opinion on the schematic regarding of hum issues DC filtering?
Do you think there is a need of adding DC protection circuit to each output?