PCB layout help

kiyoukan

Joined Nov 17, 2009
Hello i have been working on a project and gotten as far as i can with my skills.
I have a schematic that and the pcb board done and laid out mostly.
The only part left are doing traces on the PCB board. i orientated the components and set them but i am not good at all doing traces.
I would be willing to compensate for help.
Also note that i have removed the buttons as they are not needed.
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=24255&d=1288917724

kiyoukan

Joined Nov 17, 2009
okay so i gave it a go. if any one here has expresspcb and a good eye you mind giving it a look over.
I had a friend help me put down the traces and both went over it but i cant help feel there is still something off.
the file is a .pcb but named .brd to get it to upload.
again i omitted the switches.

Attachments

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007
"cant help feel there is still something off." Elaborate!
Have you "linked" the schematic and pcb files to verify net connections?
Post both the .sch and .pcb files.

Ken

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
Sorry to have let communication lapse earlier.

I'm noticing a couple of things: you say "USB B" but I think that's a USB A footprint, and why are the pins not evenly spaced?

There don't seem to be any resistors or capacitors on the board, but they're off to the side, so maybe you hadn't done that part yet.

If that voltage regulator is in a TO-220 package, I wonder if the holes are big enough. Other parts, like the crystal and the USB connector, seem to have holes that are too big.

I'm used to dealing with LCD's that have 14 pins, or 16 if there's an LED backlight. Does the LCD plug in directly here, or is there a cable?

If this really does have to be "as small as possible" you could put components on the back. Maybe that's the plan with the R's and C's.

kiyoukan

Joined Nov 17, 2009