PC fans and LCDs!

Arud

Joined Sep 28, 2008
Hello Firstly i would just like to say hello to everyone and that Thanks in advance for any help given, it will be greatly appreciated.

I am completely new to Circuitry building but have a project that I am trying to do.

Essentially i want to be able to plug a wall wart of some kind into this "box" and from there be able to power 4/10 PC fans, A Temp/humidity sensor and an LCD screen with controls.

I have no idea what components I would need other than the obvious ones.
I have attached an image I drew of what I am trying to make.

I know programming will be needed, but that can be tackled after the circuit is made..

What do you recommend as parts and how could I make this work?

Thank you again.

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
If everything is going to be powered by 12 VDC, then a wall wart with a higher voltage rating is a good idea. Use a rectifier diode and capacitor to filter the input voltage. Then a regulator like a 7812 to provide a more accurate 12 volts. Add up the current needs of all the devices to get an idea of the size of the wall wart. You may also have to place the regulator on a heat sink.

It's not clear in your diagram, but don't pass the fan current through the indicator LED's.

There is no information on the sensor or the display, so we can't really advise on those.

Arud

Joined Sep 28, 2008
If everything is going to be powered by 12 VDC, then a wall wart with a higher voltage rating is a good idea. Use a rectifier diode and capacitor to filter the input voltage. Then a regulator like a 7812 to provide a more accurate 12 volts. Add up the current needs of all the devices to get an idea of the size of the wall wart. You may also have to place the regulator on a heat sink.

It's not clear in your diagram, but don't pass the fan current through the indicator LED's.

There is no information on the sensor or the display, so we can't really advise on those.