PC based scopes: are they worth it?

NetDoc

Joined Jan 6, 2014
I am a basic noob hobbyist when it comes to electronics, but I learn when I can. As a former auto mechanic and current Scuba Instructor, I simply love tools and other gadgets that help you to suss out what's happening. To that end, I bought a $70 silly scope last year and could never figure out how to make it work. It had all sorts of bad reviews I hadn't seen when I first bought it on impulse.

I still would like a scope, and I really would like it to be PC based. No, I won't budget a thousand dollars for it as I have other things I would like first, like a rebreather. However, I saw this and thought it was reasonable.

http://shop1.usbdso.com/MSO-19-MSO-19.htm

I want to look at live info and not at a single stored pop. I still dabble into automotive and used an engine scope back in the dark ages of points and condensors up until DIS took over. They still are useful when watching sensors and solenoids so this could be multi-functional for me. What are your thoughts and concerns. Is there a better unit out there that won't break the budget?

Also, is there any online training that would bring me up to speed in it's uses? If so, which is the best/worst?

faley

Joined Aug 30, 2014