Parallel resistors app for you

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
A few days ago I needed a resistor of a certain value, but it was not a standard resistor value. So I had to put 2 or more resistors in parallel to get my value.
Doing a google search I found wesites that can calculate resistors in parallel, but I had to guess (kind of) what resistors combined would give the end result I needed. I had to try quite a few variations to get my value.

So... Since I'm a programmer I thought "I can do this better". So I went to my SQL Server and I developed some procedures that would calculate all the permutations between standard value resistors to get the combination of parallel resistors that would add up to the value I need.
I made procedures for 2, 3, and 4 resistors in parallel. I stopped at 4 because the number of permutations is enormous. 169^4=815,730,721 permutations. I actually had to limit the number of resistors to make it faster.

Anyways... After all that, here are my questions:

Is there something (online) that already does this?
When combining 4(or more) resistors in parallel, is there a formula to calculate faster than what I'm doing right now to try all permutations?
If something like this is not available already, would you like to have something like this? I can make a web interface for the procedures I developed and post it online on my website?

And finally, do you have other similar ideas that I would be able to develop? (with your help)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Well, there are several out there already that work similarly for resistors (pairs), but I threw together one in Yab (YetAnotherBasic) a month ago; it's in the Tips & Tricks thread, here:
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showpost.php?p=387305&postcount=49
YAB website: http://www.yabasic.de/ (freeware)