Parallel circuits school work

Dorrance

Joined Feb 19, 2011
I am a Devry student and now am working on simple parallel circuits.
I’m not looking for easy answers just a better understanding of what I am doing.
My problem is if I have a 10V power supply and I hook it to one side (+)of lets say 3 resisters and the other side (-) to the opposite side of those same resisters, when I measure from power supply (+) to the (-) side of the resistor I get 10V?

wmodavis

Joined Oct 23, 2010
You appear to have made a statement but ended it with a question mark. The way you stated it was not a question.

Are you asking - "If I connect a 10V power supply across three parallel resistors will I measure 10 volts across those three resistors?"

If that is what you are asking the answer is YES most likely but you can get other results depending on the power supply and the value of the resistors. If that is not what you are asking then you need to state your question more precisley.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Below its current limit rating a power supply will always provide whatever voltage it is set at. The current output will change, depending upon the load, but the voltage will stay essentially the same.

JMac3108

Joined Aug 16, 2010
Dorrance,

Yes, if you place several resistors in parallel, then the votlage across them is the same. If they are connected directly across a 10V power supply, then they will all have 10V across them. Its the current that splits between the resistors. A smaller value resistor gets more current, and a larger value resistor gets less current.

Lets use easy numbers. You have a 10V power supply across three parallel resistors, R1=10ohms, R2=20ohms, and R3=30ohms. The current through each is:

I1=10V/10ohm=1.0A
I2=10V/20ohm=0.5A
I3=10V/30ohm=0.33A.

And the total current is I1+I2+I3 = 1A+0.5A+0.33A=1.83A.