Overheating Batteries

sfountain9000

Joined Jul 1, 2013
I am looking to make a basic heating element 1" x 1" square that utilizes at max 4 AA batteries. Then problem I am having is that I have very little electrical knowledge. I am a Civil Engineering student and circuits is not part of our degree plan. When I connect the series the element heats up properly but the batteries become really really hot. I am wondering how I go about reducing the power flow back to the batteries so that the element remains warm but the batteries stay cool. I am curious as to if a resistor between the coil and the (-) will work.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
How long do you hope to keep the element warm?

Let's do the math.

A capacity of a typical AA battery is 2500mAh.
Four batteries in series would give a voltage of 4 x 1.5V = 6V.
If the resistance of your heater element is 2.4Ω, it would draw 2.5A.
The power dissipated by the element is 6V x 2.5A = 15W and the batteries would last for about an hour.

If you reduce the current to 1/5 of 2.5A, i.e. 0.5A,
the power dissipated is 3W and the batteries would last for about 5 hours.

The reason the batteries are getting hot is because they are supplying too much current. The way to reduce the current is by increasing the resistance of the heater element, i.e. put a number of heater elements in series.

Adding an external resistor is simply wasting energy as heat dissipated by the resistor.
The solution is to make the additional resistor part of the heater element.

Another method is to reduce the number of batteries. Instead of four batteries, try three or two batteries, assuming that you originally have the batteries connected in series.

sfountain9000

Joined Jul 1, 2013