Opinions on graphing calculators?

taco3rd

Joined Oct 22, 2013
I'm a mechanical engineering student. I'm looking for thoughts on a good graphing calculator, that will be sufficient going forward. Up until now I've been using the online utility bcalc.net. That was sufficient for my online algebra classes, but I'm moving into on-campus calculus courses starting this January.

I've been researching the TI-84 Plus C Silver Edition, but I have no clue if that would be a wise choice, or not. My course syllabus mentions that the TI-89, TI-92 and equivalents are not allowed. I'm not sure why.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
It's because the TI-89 can do what you are supposed to be learning automatically. The TI-84 it's largely sufficient for what you will be doing in your calculus classes, but the TI-89 would be quite useful in your engineering courses...

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
Don't they have graphing calculator apps now for android/iphones?.. Not sure a graphing calculator is needed anymore.. well assuming you have a smartphone..

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
If they won't let you use a graphing calculator that does it all, they certainly aren't going to let you text your buddies regarding the answer.:p

taco3rd

Joined Oct 22, 2013
Don't they have graphing calculator apps now for android/iphones?.. Not sure a graphing calculator is needed anymore.. well assuming you have a smartphone..
I have no doubt that they do, mcgyvr, but I'm not sure how easy it would be to use, with all the buttons and options there are on a calculator. I have a hard enough time with text messages.:eek:

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
My course syllabus mentions that the TI-89, TI-92 and equivalents are not allowed. I'm not sure why.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!