op-amp questions

NeuroGrad

Joined Jan 25, 2013
Hi Guys,
I am a graduate student and have to build an amplifier in order to power a coil which will in turn produce a magnetic field - in the end, we want the magnetic field to be as strong as possible. This is for a project I am working on in my lab. I have several parts that my advisor purchased, and I am not 100% sure how to use them to build this circuit. I have included links to the pictures/specs for each device. Could anyone give me information about how to use these devices, as well as suggestions for how to successfully build this circuit? The op-amp I am using is the opa549T. Also, what doesn't make any sense to me is my advisor didn't provide any resistors - in my mind, the best amplifier configuration for our needs is a non-inverting amplifier. Am I wrong? Is there a better configuration to be used to power the coil with the op-amp?

1. http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mean-Well/SP-150-12/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvOgUnvsteuZwCv71AyoIvd
2. http://www.schurter.com/en/Components/Connectors/Power-Entry-Modules-without-Filter/DF11
3. http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/opa549.pdf

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
The maximum peak output current from the opamp is limited to 10A. Is that enough?
With a high supply current and the opamp with a high current but not saturated then the opamp gets very hot. Can you cool it?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
What are you making (transmitter, medical device, SQUID, NMR/MRI,...)? What frequency will it be pulsing? Square wave, sine, narrow pulse? what is input and output voltage (current) requirement? What is DC resistance of coil?

Get us some basic info to get us started. If you don't have it, ask your professor. Hopefully he had some sort of vision.

NeuroGrad

Joined Jan 25, 2013