One BCD used to increment another at a specific value?

erwiH

Joined Apr 17, 2011
Hi there

I am trying to increment a 7-segment display by 1 (using a 74ls90 with 74ls47 decoder) when another decade counter reaches a value of 4.

In other words, for every 4th count on one decade counter, I want increase the count on a 7-seg display by one! (without the use of micro-controllers)

I've managed to set up a simple counter (0-9), but I have no idea where to go from now! Attached is my circuit schematic:

I'm still new to the world of electronics, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Your schematic did not attach.

As long as you wish to count every increment of 4, all you need to do is to look at bit 2 of the counter (the four outputs are 0 - 3) with an AND gate. When that bit is HIGH, the AND gate will pass the clock to increment the next counter stage.

That means another counter and a 74LS08. Don't forget to tie unused inputs to ground or pull them HIGH with a 20K resistor (TTL logic can short and wipe your power supply, so you need that resistor as a current control).

erwiH

Joined Apr 17, 2011
Hi

Considering I only need one AND gate, can i not use a single one as opposed to the quad 74LS08? I've set up a dual 7-seg display (so i can count from 0-99), with an AND gate how i think it should be... It seems to be working correctly, but I'm not sure if thats fluke or if I've set it up correctly... My circuit is at http://img845.imageshack.us/i/countercct.jpg/
Any input/advice would be fantastic!