null modem signal flash

seesoe

Joined Dec 7, 2008
hello, i have a thermal printer that runs on a parallel to serial mull modem cable, im trying to figure out how i could do a simple circuit to put led's in line with the cable and have them turn on and remain on when a print job is sent, then to turn them off i would like to press a button, you know, kind of like a confirm i picked the printed paper up type thing.

im thinking 555, and thats about all i know.... what pins or such should i use and what type of curcit could i use? anything i can lookup, because im not good with doing things from scratch...

thanks a lot everyone!
cheers
seesoe

seesoe

Joined Dec 7, 2008
so here is the pinout for my cable i guess ( i have db25 to db9)

Null-Modem Pinouts - DB-25 to DB-9
2 to 2
3 to 3
4 to 8
5 to 7
6 and 8 to 4
7 to 5
20 to 6 and 1

Pin assignments - DB-25
2 TD Transmit Data
3 RD Receive Data
4 RTS Request to send
5 CTS Clear to send
6 DSR Data Set Ready
7 SG Signal Ground
8 DCD Data Carrier Detect
20 DTR Data Terminal Ready

Pin Assignments - DB-9
1 DCD Data Carrier Detect
2 RD Receive Data
3 TD Transmit Data
4 DTR Data Terminal Ready
5 SG Signal Ground
6 DSR Data Set Read
7 RTS Request to Send
8 CTS Clear to Send

would i use pin tx or rx on the null cable?

peajay

Joined Dec 10, 2005
im thinking 555

I absolutely despise the 555 timer. It has a reputation for being the most useful electronics component, when really the thing sucks for just about anything anyone ever uses it for. I have a few of them, but I quickly learned they have a lot of problems, and something else is usually a better choice. For example, a 74HC123 can be set up as an astable multivibrator (the most frequent use of a 555 timer seems to be to replace an otherwise too-difficult-to-build oscillator), and unlike a 555, it won't become completely disfunctional when you try to use it above audio frequencies. ...but I digress...