NPN Transistor Question

Nathan Hale

Joined Oct 28, 2011
Hi guys! Hope all is well. I just started learning about NPN transistors, which i think are pretty cool. Like all newbies, I have a question about them. In the schematic below, why did the designer of the circuit decide on using a 10K resistor for the base current? What is the math behind it?
The transistor is a 2N3904 NPN Bipolar Junction Transistor.
Thank You for your answers.

Trans1.jpg

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
All calculations rely on Ohm's Law.
First, figure out how much current will be flowing through the LED when the transistor is turned on.
You can make a wild approximation that the current = 9V/1kΩ = 9mA.
If you take into account the voltage drop across the LED is about 2V
a better approximation of the current = 7mA.
This is going to be the collector current Ic.

Next, approximate the base current Ib to be Ic/10 = 0.7mA
A wild guess would put the base resistor at 9V/0.7mA = 13kΩ
If you take the voltage drop across the base-emitter junction to be 0.7V
a better approximation would be 8.3V/0.7mA = 12kΩ

10kΩ is a nice round value.

DiodeMan

Joined Feb 3, 2013
Hmmmm not to discredit MrChips, but I've always been under the impression that base current controls collector current.

So therefore the base current would be the supply voltage minus the base-emitter voltage (probably 0.6 or 0.7 volts) divided by Rbb. The collector current would then be found by multiplying this value by the beta for the transistor.

From there you can apply Ohms law to the resistor to find the volt drop across the resistor, and the voltage across the LED would be given somewhere. The remaining voltage (as per KVL) would be dropped across the emitter-collector junction.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Two problems with that approach,
1) it does not tell you how to calculate the value of the base resistor,
2) you don't know what is the transistor current gain beta.