Noob here needs help with simple LED project, any takers?

WorldWideBum

Joined Mar 30, 2014
Hello geniuses of the electronic world. First of all I suck when it comes to messing with circuits because I simply don't understand them like I would like, however, they have gotten the best of my curiosity at this point and I want to try to construct a simple LED circuit for my project. I am pretty sure what I want to do has been covered here in the forums somewhere but my problem is, I don't know exactly what it is I am looking for so please excuse this post and accept my apologies if this has been covered to death. :) With that, here is what I want to accomplish and being a complete ignoramus with this stuff, I need someone to hold my hand through it basically:

I am building a marionette that I want to put a few LED's through out. I want to have 2 LED's for the eyes, I want to use the ones that will slowly change colors, rgb's? I want a red one to put where a heart would go and I want the LED to pulse like a heartbeat. Blink blink, fade... blink blink, fade and I want it to have 5 white LED's that stay lit controlled with a 9 volt battery and have an ON/OFF switch wired in.

I've included an attachment of what I'm trying to do. I know what I want but have zero clue how to get there.

I am COMPLETELY oblivious as what to do to make this happen including what to buy. I have no clue about resistors, timers, capacitors, or what types of LED's to purchase.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, a shopping list, the best place to purchase and diagram of how to wire it.

Thanks a million in advanced!

Attachments

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
Hello and welcome to the forum. :)

The white LEDs are easy, they just need a resistor each.

The flashing red LED is easy, they can be bought off the shelf and usually don't need a resistor (depends on your battery voltage).