Noob Help: Circuit on when off?

m.houstrup

Joined Jul 19, 2011
Hello dear community,

I'm a total newb at circuits, and I need help to a (kinda) simple one!
SO basically, I have a battery, some wires and a LED (I'll need more, I guess)

What I need to do, is to turn the LED on when two wires get disconnected.
I want to use this as an alarm, so when a door opens and a wire breaks contact, the alarm should go off (the LED).

How the #&!¤ do I do that an what component do I need? :D
I appreciate your time, thanks!

Last edited:

Robert.Adams

Joined Feb 16, 2010
Perhaps you could put the switch in parallel with the LED so that when it is shut, it shorts the LED out and when the door is open the LED is not shorted. You would need to use a current limiting resistor to dissipate power in the circuit when the door is shut and to limit LED current when open.

I think there is a more power efficient way but that is the simplest I can think of.

Sparky49

Joined Jul 16, 2011
Hi, and welcome to the forums!

This isn't a very complicated circuit, it just needs to be thought about.:)

The switch is a push to make switch. That means when you push it, it completes the circuit. The moment you stop pushing it, it breaks the circuit.

When the door is closed, the switch is also closed. As current will always follow the path of least resistance, it will keep on flowing through the switch and R1. It will not flow through R2 and the LED.

Think of it like a valve for water. The water will always flow in the easiest direction, with the least resistance.

However, when the door opens, there's nothing pushing that switch, so it opens. This gives effectively an infinite amount of resistance. The electrons, like water, will look for a new path. Anything with less than infinite resistance will do.

The current finds the path with the LED and R2 and will now flow through them, thus lighting the LED.