nodal KVL

ELECTRONERD

Joined May 26, 2009
Using source transformations, I get an output voltage of 3.75V based on KVL. I'm not very experienced in this type of thing but I think that's the answer. Do you have an answer to verify my assumption?

Austin

The Electrician

Joined Oct 9, 2007
There are two things labeled V1; the 6 volt battery, and the voltage across the 6Ω resistor R2.

I think it would make more sense for the 1/4 V1 controlled source to be referring to the voltage across R2.

stupid

Joined Oct 18, 2009
hi clarification.
the electrician was right.

(1/4)V1 is with respect to 6Ω not the voltage source 6v.

is I2=2A?

There are two things labeled V1; the 6 volt battery, and the voltage across the 6Ω resistor R2.

I think it would make more sense for the 1/4 V1 controlled source to be referring to the voltage across R2.

Attachments

The Electrician

Joined Oct 9, 2007
Denote the node at the top of R2 as node A.

There are 4 branches connected to A, and we can sum the currents in those 4 branches to zero, using the convention that a current leaving a node is taken as positive. Each branch current can be given as a simple application of Ohm's law:

(V1-6)/10 + V1/6 - V1/4 + 2 = 0

Rearranging, we have:

V1*(1/6 + 1/10 - 1/4) = 6/10 - 2

The solution is V1 = -84 volts.

From this, we can determine that I1 = 9 amps in the direction shown.

I2 = 84/4 + 2 = 23 amps in the direction shown.

The current from the V1/4 dependent source is in the direction opposite to that shown by the arrow in the source symbol, because V1 is negative.

stupid

Joined Oct 18, 2009
thank u, the electrician.
is there any supermesh element in the circuit?

if so, could V1/4 current source be the constrain?
pls see attached.
the formula by KVL,

mesh 1 in clockwise direction
6-10I1-6(I1+V1/4 - 2)=0-------eq1

mesh 2 in clockwise direction
6(2-V1/4 + 2 - I1 - V1/4 +2)=0---------eq2

regards,
stupid

Denote the node at the top of R2 as node A.