Newbie with a project

Bruino

Joined Oct 28, 2008
Hi guys. I'm new to electronics, please be patient.

I would like to build a generator for my rc helicopter. I have a brushless motor which produces aprox. 7 to 18 volts , depending on revs of main motor. I would need it to supply 5.4vor 6v to my ignition supply battery, which is a 4.8v 2500mAh nimh.

The ignition requires 6v max and 1700mA. It would be identical to a car alternator, charging the battery and supplying power to the ignition.

I'm not sure what amps the motor will supply.

Thanks in advance.
Shaun

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Actually, your post is a bit unclear. I saw it as using an electric motor for the rotor at first. On second reading, it seems that you have a spark ignited engine (I left off with glo-plugs), and wish to add in the motor to act as a battery charger.

If that is the case, you could add some rectifier diodes to isolate the motor, put in a filter capacitor, and run the output through a 7806 regulator. It could get a bit hot, so arranging for a small heat sink and airflow would be critical.

Can your motor generate anything like enough current to charge the battery and keep up with the ignition? If not, it will keep you flying a bit longer, but may not give much satisfaction due to the performance hit. You will have the extra weight, plus the generator will pull power from the engine.

Bruino

Joined Oct 28, 2008
Hi sorry for being vague.
It is a petrol 2 stroke engine, fairly big 23cc with aprox 2.5HP. A tank of fuel will run for 30 min. but battery will not. If generator could supply power to spark ignition and battery would only be used at start up and as a back up that would be great.
Cheers

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hi guys. I'm new to electronics, please be patient.
Welcome to the Forums, Shaun. We try to be patient :)