newbie - variable ac source help

dixdance

Joined Dec 3, 2013
Hi, I'm mounting a Payne 18TBP variable voltage controller in a box with some meters and lamps to make a voltage source for silicon rubber heaters. As I'm completely new to circuit design, I'd like to be sure I'm not making any bonehead mistakes in my design. Attached is my schematic, please excuse the hand drawing, any advice or encouragement appreciated.

Thanks, Richard

Attachments

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Will your timer operate properly with the reduced voltage? If so, you may need to put the timer before the voltage controller.

You may want to add a fuse holder and 10A fuse to your box.

dixdance

Joined Dec 3, 2013
Thanks for the reply.

The timer is just mechanical, so I think I'm ok. There is a 250v 10amp fuse in the Payne unit, do I need an additional fuse? If so where should it go?

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Probably just shows the timer contacts as it's more of a functional block diagram.

Will the peak value of reduced voltage ever be less than neon fire voltage.
Not a big thing. It may be what you want.

If its a phase control system, are the meters suitable for measuring average.

Again probably ok.

dixdance

Joined Dec 3, 2013
Uh-oh, what is "neon fire voltage"? I expect to operate in the range of 50v to 110v, but it might be lower at times.

No phase control, just variable voltage.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
If you use an LED indicator for the low voltage side, I believe you could use a zener diode, say 5V, in parallel to the LED with a current limiting resistor. Another resistor would limit current to both the zener and the LED. This arrangement would, I think, keep the LED lit down to lower voltages while still limiting current at the highest voltages. Maybe there's a more elegant trick but this was the first thing to pop into my head.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012