Newbie Question - Diode Identification

NickK

Joined May 3, 2010
I'm working on upgrading a Canon CR4 retinal camera that uses a Polaroid camera to a digital camera. It's a pretty bold project for me since I have very little electronics experience, but it seemed pretty straight forward, so I went for it. Everything was going as planned until I screwed up something on this board. Diode D306 in the attached picture measures a forward voltage drop of .002v, while the other 5 diodes measure just under .600v. Also, D306 has continuity. This board controls the existing Polaroid camera, which is no longer being recognized. So, I'm guessing the problem is at the very least the D306 diode. I tried to find a replacement but I haven't had any luck.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and any input would be greatly appreciated.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
The problem is probably the diode, however, other components might case the diode to appear as shorted. Maybe a soldering splash or a bend pin.

You can read the part number on the diode and google it to find which diode is it. If you can't post what is written on the diode here.

NickK

Joined May 3, 2010
I replaced the diode and that wasn't the problem. The new diode gave the same reading. But, I did find out that when I disconnect the white wire from position 1 the diode tests at just under .600v. The white wire leads to a small motor that lifts a mirror up so that a picture can be taken. I also found that resistors 302, 304,305 & 306 tested at 13.4k. I'm slightly colorblind but they appear to be red red orange gold which is 22k +/- 5%. The other 2 resistors tested within range.

Should my next step be to replace the resistors?

Thanks and any help would be greatly appreciated.

NickK

Joined May 3, 2010