Newbie question about potentiometers in parallel

Imdsm

Joined Feb 11, 2011
Hi All,

I'm new to electronics, so currently I'm closer to a house plant than I am an electronics genius, but I'm a programmer in about 10 languages so I do learn fast.

I'm currently working on a project (not for work just personal) and I've got a question about using potentiometers in parallel to control lighting levels.

Basically, I am creating a desktop green house for my office, with artificial lights. I will be using a number of LEDs: blue, red, UV and IR. I will be using 4 of each and want to be able to control the brightness of each of these four types of LED. If there's too much blue light and the plants are growing too quickly, I want to be able to dim that down..

So I thought maybe four potentiometers in parallel, each of which will give some power to 4 separate circuits - one for each type of LED.

But the problem is, I think, that electricity prefers to take the path of least resistance, and so when other circuits are on full and I put the resistance up a bit on another, it just switches off, rather than dimming.

It could be that the pots are too high resistance, or it could be a thousand other things. At the moment I am just using simulation software whilst I wait for the rest of my components to arrive - so it could just be a bug in that.

Here is the circuit diagram:
http://i55.tinypic.com/9jkchz.jpg
(ignore the resistors, I set their value to get the current right on the LEDs)

Will my idea work? Is this the right way of doing it or are there better ways?

I appreciate any reply!

Regards,
Adam

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

It is never wise to connect the leds directly parallel.
Each led should have its own current limiting resistor.
You can also put a couple of leds in series with a curretnt limiting resistor.

Take a look at this thread by Bill_Marsden on connecting leds and more:
LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers