newbie project.

tonymac

Joined Jan 20, 2012
Hi All.I am trying to put a circuit together and could use some help.I am new to projects,but have some expierience with pcb s on boilers as i am a gas engineer.The first part of the circuit i need help with is how to reduce 240vac to 12vdc to power a latching relay and then i further need to reduce 12vdc to 3vdc to power a dual colour led.Space is limited.The whole circuit has to fit in a 1 gang x25mm deep box',inc relays. Thanks in advance,tony.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
Find a switch mode power supply rated for 240 V AC, 12V DC @ 1 A or better. Current limiting for LEDs with a resistor from 12 V might be all that is needed; around 500 Ω, depending on LED colors.

tonymac

Joined Jan 20, 2012
Hi again, could someone with better knowledge than mine just pass their eye over the attachment & let me know is there any problems. also will i need diodes between the resistors and dual colour led.

The sequence of events are as follows.
1. At rest when 240vac is applied to circuit it powers transformer and also goes through c-nc contacts of relay 1 and then to external load(maximum 3 amps) n.b relay 1 coil is 12 vdc. switch is 240 vac. Also +12vdc can pass through c-nc contact of dpdt relay and then through resistor to dual colour led(green-on)

2. When external momentary switch is pressed the coil in the dpdt relay is energised (+12vdc). Both pair of switch contacts change for c-nc to c-no. Power comes off green dual colour led and puts it onto red( off). Power for dpdt relay is now taken through lower switch contacts. In addition relay 1 is energised changing from c-nc to c-no interupting power to external load.
Circuit remains in this state until 240vac removed and circuit returns to at rest.

Thanks in advance tony.
IMG00844-20120122-2016.jpg

hmv4u2

Joined Jan 19, 2012