newbie electrician

robert.guttormson

Joined Oct 3, 2009
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to this forum and to Electrical technology, I am not sure if this is the right place to post the following. I was a welder earlier(and thanks to recession) and am now studying to become an Electrician. I joined the electricians course a little late and am now befuddled with some terms that i am not able to negotiate very well. I have googled/binged but have not found any satisfactory answers for the following terms. It would be great if someone can in layman terms(analogies may be?) explain the following

1. Impedance matching
2. line-to-line, line-to-phase voltage
3. balanced load and unbalanced load in a 3-phase system
4. commutation components in a circuit.

TIA,
Bob

ELECTRONERD

Joined May 26, 2009
Welcome to the AAC (All-About-Circuits) forum, we hope you enjoy your stay!

I will expain impedance mathing. Impedance is measured in ohms, denoted by the symbol "Ω". It is in regards to AC circuits only, not DC circuits. Suppose we have a speaker with a 8Ω impedance, and an amplifier that also has an 8Ω impedance. We can now say that the impedances are matched giving a full transfer of power. Since they are both 8Ω, they cancel out delivering the highest potential of power distributed from the amplifier to the speaker (8/8 x 100 = 100%). What if we had 4Ω for the speaker and 8Ω for the amplifier? We can say that we would have a 50% loss of power, which is quite a bit (4/8 x 100 = 50%). So it is important to match impedances between circuits, you will deal a lot with this since electrical home systems are based entirely upon AC circuits.

robert.guttormson

Joined Oct 3, 2009