Newbie Diving in, definitely crazy and already stuck!

PeteW

Joined Oct 6, 2012
Wow, this looks like a great site site! Somebody has put in a lotta love and hard work.

So as the title says I'm a newbie to electronics. Had a life long interest, since I bought a radio hobby kit at Radio Shack back when light bulbs were the new big thing. I was only a teenager and as I remember the radio did not work after I finished it. That kind of discouraged me at the time so I did not pursue it further.

Anyway here I am 45 years later with time on my hands (that always spells trouble, just ask the wife). I was doing some soldering and suddenly got a hankering to get a soldering station and from there I got carried away on the damn internet. Next thing I know I'm at Radio Shack picking up the Electronics Learning Lab.

As I'm certain many on this site know the Electronics Learning Lab was developed by Forrest M. Mims. It comes with two 96 page workbooks and is largely project based. My 12 year old grandson thinks it's cool so now we have something besides video games we can do together. Thanks god! There's nothing worse than getting continuously spanked at video games by a 12 year old.

Having just begun this past week we've assembled the 555 "black box" test circuit on page 19 which it says to keep intact (with the exception of disconnecting the +6v power feed) as you build the following projects. To keep this as brief as possible we had success until we built the 5th project on page 20 (bottom of the page).

This project did not work. We traced over it many times, checking the directions and our work to no avail. I hoping for some advice. Here is a link to a pdf file of the workbook, 2800027_P1_PM_EN.pdf. The black box circuit is on page 19 and we're currently stuck on project 5 on page 20, "use the DPDT switch to actuate to devices at different voltages". For the record I've also tried projects 6 and 7 on page 21 with no result.